My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

“O, that I had given him all!”

Elliot's book, the path to loneliness gives a different perspective on how we can invest ourselves in others and will give of our time to help others.

"The Path of Loneliness" by Elisabeth Elliot

In the book “The Path of Loneliness” by Elisabeth Elliot” she relays that there is an old story of a king who went into the village streets to greet his subjects. A beggar sitting by the roadside eagerly held up his almsbowl, sure that the king would give handsomely. Instead the king asked the beggar to give him something. Taken aback, the beggar fished three grains of rice from his bowl and dropped them into the king’s outstretched hand. When at the end of the day the beggar poured out what he had received, he found to his astonishment three grains of pure gold in the bottom of his bowl. O, that I had given him all!

Have you ever been in a relationship where it seems as if you are given just enough to “keep you from complaining”? Relating to people who are stingy in the way they love, in the way they support, in offering help, in being generous can make a relationship very difficult. These may be the type of people who always want to keep account of how much they’ve done and whose turn it is to do next.

I admit I have been stingy sometimes, holding back for some reason or another in sharing of myself, my time, even kindness-a kind word. So, as I work on my attitude, that is, the attitude of a generous spirit I hope to never say with regret “O, that I had given my all!”

"Comments"

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

