My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

Love-speak to my ancestors. Enduring the Challenges of Slavery

Living through the Auction-block experience

I feel like whispering. I’m so awed by you. I’ve lived your stories through the writings and reenactment of others,  yet it’s so hard for me to grasp your life–what you endured, how you lived, how you survived. I don’t know what it feels like not to matter, not to have my person-hood acknowledged, not to have others realize that I have dreams and hopes, thoughts and ideas–that I have a place in the world.
But you remained strong. You overcame. You understood that though your bodies were  enslaved your minds were not. So you dreamed your dreams and looked for the hope of freedom in your life or the life to come.

I feel like weeping. I can’t imagine being counted with live-stock. Being whipped instead of encouraged, being branded instead of having my own identity. When you stood on the auction block, completely exposed and vulnerable–stripped not only of your dignity, but of the God-given gift of choice–What were you thinking? How did you endure the humiliation?
When your children were taken and sold, you sons disfigured, your husbands lynched, your daughters raped–How did you keep going, singing, hoping?

I feel like dancing. I’m here because of you. I’m strong because you were strong. I’m persistent, a dreamer, I’m proud, dignified, beautiful, intelligent. A thinker, an innovator…
And there are so many others you would be proud of: mothers, fathers, laborers, teachers, preachers, doctors, judges, authors, poets, inventors, businessmen and women, designers,  athletes and entertainers, officers of law and even presidents. We’re so proud we are a part of you.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

