My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

Go on, be a hero!

I’ve never been the kind of girl who feels she needs to be rescued, so when one of my friends gave me the book “Your Knight in Shining Armor” with the expectation of having wonderful dialogue about the content, I could not relate. It seemed too fanciful, my rescuer not human enough, and the story did not leave me longing for such a hero as she had been.

Don’t get me wrong, I love stories based on fantasy, love romance and especially love stories about heroes, I just need them to be more relatable, a little more practical. Lately, I started listening to one of my favorite radio stations online at wlib.com, and found a hero I connected with in one of their ads. The hero, The Red Defender. Story line—There’s potential tragedy, the Red Defender shows up, takes charge and moves quickly to prevent impending danger, but, the end of the story is never what is expected. The rescues always go awry and the outcome is never what he intended.

Needless to say, I love this hero, he makes me laugh with his wacky rescues after proclaiming, “I’ll take care of that!” but ends up causing other disasters. But I have to admire the way he steps up in the face of challenges and tries to help. I guess another reason I’ve grown to love this hero is because I can relate in some way.

Have you ever tried to do the right thing, tried really hard, and made a mess anyway? Have you ever wanted to make a good impression but ended up doing something that totally embarrassed you? I have. So, I’ve had to learn the very healthy habit of being able to laugh at myself when the impression I leave does not live up to the person I am, and be willing to get back at it and try again.

I guess it’s true, there’s a hero in all of us. Most times, though, the hero never gets out because we’re too afraid of doing something wrong or making a fool of ourselves. But I’ve learned it’s ok to make a fool of ones self once in a while. That has been one of my most influential teachers in the lesson of accepting my own humanness and that of others. The lesson of offering acceptance and forgiveness when ordinary heroes try to be there and live out the greatness they know they possess but fall short. I say, “Thanks for trying” to all the ordinary heroes, “keep working at doing heroic things and know you are loved even when you fall short”.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

