My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

A love that nurtures

How could something so simple bring such enjoyment and satisfaction I wondered as I bent over my plant. One of my friends had gifted it to me–a potted tomato plant with basil and cilantro. Now I had three baby tomatoes growing, and it had brought out the nurturer in me. I began checking the leaves for bugs and fungus, breaking off dead branches and pinching away suckers to ensure it was kept healthy and provided with the right conditions to flourish and grow.

I stayed for about 20 minutes enjoying the act of nurturing my plant and was deep in thought — how carefully God must watch over his children to love us and nurture us, to prune and remove those things that can hinder growth, deplete energy and threaten spiritual health. I challenged myself to rethink my views on discomfort and pain, for maybe the discomfort we sometimes experience is not the administering of punishment or discipline but is a result of being loved and nurtured.

The idea of being nurtured where I’m protected and cuddled, loved and pampered, feeling safe, appeal to me but the breaking off and stripping of things is the painful side of nurturing that is very real and absolutely necessary.

In order to mature we have to accept all that nurturing is. For the beauty of knowing we are loved, is, that we can rest in the arms of our nurturer and allow Him the freedom to administer what we need.

5 Comments»

  nobusysignal wrote @

good word, I’ll these last thoughts to bed with me and see if I awaken with them.

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

I sure hope you do, nobusy, Hopefully as I challenge myself to renew the way I think others will be challenged as well.

  godcrazzzy wrote @

really beautiful and so true.

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

Thanks godcrazzzy. Love the opportunity to connect with you.

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

Thanks for taking the time to read and I always enjoy getting feedback.


Leave a Reply

