My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

Learning the Faith Walk – Stepping on your fear

Leave fear behind and do the faith walk

"Join the faith walk, it dispels fear"

I hate saying this out loud, so I’m just going  to whisper — “I can’t swim”. Just imagine, an island girl who has loved and spent so much time at the beach never learning to swim. I love the ocean and when I think of vacation I think about heading to the beach. Refreshing means cool water against my body, waves massaging me, causing me to relax and unwind, lounging on the beach enjoying nature, and for some reason swimming was never a part of that. It was time to make a change, however, so I decided to use the pool at the “Y” to rectify this situation and almost a year later I’m just having a breakthrough.

I’ve always known that the thing that has hindered me most from learning to swim is that though I love the water I’m also terrified of it. My comfort level has always been where my feet can still feel solid ground beneath me and if I can’t feel it, fear sets it. FEAR — that paralyzing, limiting, stagnating force that keeps us stuck, casts doubts on our efforts and if not challenged robs us of our courage to try, move, learn, change, grow, leave, achieve and conquer.

I had to deal with that fear because I was determine to make a change — I needed a breakthrough. But this breakthrough actually came as a result of seeing other people trying and learning more so than having someone teach me. I happened to be at the pool when a class showed up for a make-up session. I watched fearful, timid, uncertain grown ups as they followed their instructor’s directives—splash around, sink, gasp and fail but kept right on trying. I had not paid to take this class but I decided to observe, try and learn as much as I could.

I listened and joined in the splashing, much sinking and gasping, then a light came on. Instead of allowing fear to cause me to reach for the comfort of firm footing when I felt I was sinking, I realized I became buoyant when I relaxed, and moving my arms and legs lifted me and caused me rise to the surface. It was amazing! The more I experienced positive buoyancy and was able to move in the water, the more I wanted to try. Soon I forgot about fear and afterward wondered why I had allowed fear to hold me captive for so long.

This seemingly simple lesson has re-enforced my journey to ensure that fear is not controlling any area of my life. I’ve been learning the faith walk, that is recognizing my fear triggers and in faith stepping on and over those things that otherwise would hold me captive. I’m developing confidence in the One who reminds me to “Fear not,” that is allowing me to trust and relax, enabling me to not sweat the small or large stuff as I journey. I’ve learned to keep moving and if I fail to get up and try again. As I grow and change there is this hunger for more growth and a new voice of faith is replacing that old voice of fear.

Is it fear that’s keeping you where you are? Is it fear that’s making it impossible for you to stay put? Is it fear that’s causing you to conform, to feed that desire to fit in? This is Dona Halliday challenging you to face your fears and experience the transforming power of the “faith walk”.

Take a listen to my favorite worshiper, Pastor Donnie McClurkin’s, I]l trust you Lord

6 Comments»

  Jnel wrote @

Well said… I have similar fears about the ocean but what keeps me stuck in the fear of not trying to learn is the fact that i almost drown twice as a kid… So I think am gonna keep my feet on solid grounds for a bit longer…

Thanks for sharing Dona

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

Hi J,
I believe a similar fear is tucked away in my subconscious somewhere. My younger brother almost drowned when we were little and my mom almost drowned as well — it’s a terrifying thing, so I can imagine it’s even more frightening when you own the experience. You’ll have to come to the pool with me soon, you won’t believe it, there are sometimes babies who are still learning to crawl who are being taught.

  Jnel wrote @

I was hanging with girlfriends today at the spa and my American friend just couldn’t believe the i truly don’t know how to swim. To which i explain the reason behind it (almost drowning), she then stated that it may have to with a bit more than that, that I may have become comfortable in not being able to and therefore have not made an effort to really learn… which i kinda agree to… Looking forward to going to the pool with you :).. let me know

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

She might be right J. I’ll let you know. Who knows I might be able to teach you a thing or two. LOL!!

  Hypnotherapist wrote @

Hey everyone.

I really appreciate your website, keep up the good work!
Let me know what you think of my writings regarding hypnosis.

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

Hi Jermaine, I had a chance to read your article and it was quite interested. As a matter of fact we have an article that will be coming soon in one of the publications that I work for that deals with depression and I believe it includes some of the methods mentioned in your article.


Leave a Reply

