My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

Growing in the hair and now

Protective style for my natural hair
Listen to your hair

One of the things I could have never anticipated on this journey of under-standing and loving the natural texture of my hair are the life lessons I’m being awakened to. So much of life is intertwined, natural principles can help us grasp the things we can’t see or touch, like the emotional and spiritual.

One of the lessons I learnt recently is to listen to the sound of my hair. The test is to take sections of my hair, apply pressure by gently rubbing it together, and just listen. Even though its appearance may not indicate it, if my hair is lacking moisture it produces a dry, louder-than-usual brittle sound, which, if left untreated will eventually cause damage to my hair.

My aha moment? Listen carefully to my words, spoken and unspoken when I feel pressured. Listen not only to what I say but how I say it.  As important, listen carefully to what the people in my life are saying and how it is being say. There is a lot of hurt that can be hidden beneath humor.  A lot of anger can be stuffed in silence. Unappreciation and frustration are sometimes unleashed in sudden, unexpected outbursts… and if we are not listening, we can miss the signs that something is lacking in our lives or in the lives of the people we love.

Growing in the here and now — that is , accepting the challenge and learning from the places, people and situations at the moment– suggests we listen and then discipline ourselves to take action when we hear that loud, brittle sound. So I applied a deep conditioner “Deep SOULutions” from Natural Girls Rock to my hair, slipped on a plastic cap, then for about 4 hours I allowed the conditioner to soften and restore moisture. I then fixed my hair in a protective style — twists, to minimize its exposure to daily wear and tear and help facilitate growth.

If we endeavor to grow, our journey will provide us with an abundance of opportunities.  I challenge you to take this simply hair lesson and apply it now to those brittle-sounding areas in your life.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

