My6inchchallenge's Blog

Tackling difficulties and overcoming the challenges life serves up – by Dona Halliday

The time for courage

“Gift of Jehovah,” that’s what his name means. I sat at my desk on Tuesday morning, working, but the tears would not stop. He was dead. For several days my mind offered up a single cry, “Father, I don’t understand…” I had really admired this 19-year-old who was so responsibly and committed to his faith and his work in the church.

I tried searching the internet for news about the accident — it’s sometimes hard for me to process things without facts. I did not find anything about him but there were so many others who had died during that week and I found myself grieving for them and their families as well.

If what my faith teaches is true, that, “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved,”  then, is it not time for courage? I found myself troubled by this question, “Where will eternity find all those who had died?”

I was reminded of Matthew’s re-commitment to God on Sunday, he had held his hand up high when Pastor Garmon had asked if anyone wanted to renew their commitment to Christ, and I sat next to him as he reaffirmed that commitment out loud. I realize that if I believe “The Book” then Matthew’s life, no matter how much we miss him, is not lost. Paul said while we live we have the opportunity to glorify Christ and bring benefit to others, but when we die, if we know The Christ, we gain.

Matthew’s death reminds me that we have no guarantee of the length of the days of our loved ones –they can be taken in the next second, minute, hour, day; So I ask again, is it not time for courage?

In Acts 4:13 the Bible tells us that as Peter and John boldly proclaimed that there is only one way to God — that is through Jesus Christ — that those who opposed the message were astonished at their courage. Courage to speak the truth of The Word even though it could cost them their lives.

My prayer is that God would give us the courage to live and speak the Good News of the Gospel with clarity, conviction and boldness. Courage to work through those things in the body of Christ that divide us and cause others to question the validity of The Faith. Courage to decide to do life according to the Word so that we don’t cause others to stumble. Courage to reach and love those in our space back to a relationship with Christ. Courage to reach our world.

2 Comments»

  Kimberly Bolden wrote @

Powerful! I taught Matthew at Pathway Christian School and even during youth service at East Point. He always held a desire to truly know GOD and it brings peace to my heart to know that he recommitted His heart to God shortly before He passed. I believe today He is with Christ in Paradise.

Sidenote: Pastor Garmon did our pre-marital counseling. I love WOFLC. It is where I attended church before I served with Wesley at East Point.

Be encouraged today! God has given to you the prophetic gift of writing the vision and making it plain.

  my6inchchallenge wrote @

Hi Kimberly, thanks so much and it’s great hearing from you. I did not know you attended Word Of Faith Love Center before you went to East Point Christian, and that you knew Matthew. I only started working with Matthew late last year but I was so impressed with his heart and his desire to serve — you played a part in shaping his heart. I have no doubt as well that Matthew is with Christ and that his life, though short, has touched many.
My continued prayers for you and Wesley as you continue your work for the Kingdom.


Leave a Reply

